Kurt_2013_beskåretKurt Gothelf is the head of Center for DNA Nanotechnology (CDNA) funded by the Danish National Research Foundation, and is Professor in Organic Chemistry at Aarhus University, Denmark. Gothelf is also the coordinator of the European School of DNA Nanotechnology (EScoDNA), a Marie Curie Initial Training Network under FP7, which involves five European universities, 14 PhD students and 2 post docs.

Gothelf is Danish and he studied at Aarhus University, where he was awarded a PhD from professor Karl Anker Jørgensen‘s group. Gothelf was a postdoctoral fellow at Duke University after which he returned to Aarhus University to launch an independent research career. During this period he worked with surface chemistry and established the research field of DNA nanotechnology in Denmark.

Gothelf received the Danish Academy of Natural Sciences PhD prize in 1997, and in 2004 he received the Torkil Holm Foundation research award for his initial work in DNA nanotechnology. In 2008, he received the Knud Lind Larsen Award for his contributions in Organic Nanochemistry. His outstanding research was awarded the Ministry of Science Elite Research Prize in 2010.

He is a former treasurer and current president of the association International Society for Nanoscale Science, Computing and Engineering (ISNSCE), which is behind the two leading annual conferences in DNA nanotechnology.

Gothelf hosted the 18th International Conference on DNA Computing and Molecular Programming in Aarhus in the summer of 2012 and the International Workshop in Molecular Programming in Copenhagen 2013. He has also been a member and chairman of the Division of Organic Chemistry, Chemical Society in Denmark.

Gothelf’s work is internationally oriented and his research center CDNA’s collaborators, include the following research groups:

  • Professor Peng Yin, Wyss Institute, Harvard University, US
  • Professor William Shih, Wyss Institute, Harvard University, US
  • Associate professor Thom Labean, North Carolina State University (NCSU), US
  • Professor Hao Yan, Arizona State University (ASU), US.
  • Professor Chunhai Fan, Shanghai Institute of Applied Physics (SINAP), China
  • Professor Andrew Turberfield, Oxford University, UK
  • Professor Friedrich Simmel, Technical University of Munich (TUM), Germany
  • Professor Tim Liedl, Ludwig-Maximillians-Universität (LMU), Germany
  • Assistant professor Björn Högberg, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Please read more about the group at the page “About”, and his current scientific interests are described in the Research pages.

%d bloggers like this: